Committee	Date:
The City Bridge Trust Committee	26 November 2015
Subject: Terms of Reference and Frequency of Meetings of the City Bridge Trust Committee	Public
Report of: Town Clerk	For Decision

Main Report

As part of the post-implementation review of the changes made to the governance arrangements in 2011 it was agreed that all Committees/Boards should review their terms of reference annually. This will enable any proposed changes to be considered in time for the reappointment of Committees by the Court of Common Council.

The terms of reference of the City Bridge Trust Committee are attached as an appendix to this report for your consideration.

The Committee is currently scheduled to meet six times each year along with a strategic away half-day.

Recommendation(s)

That, subject to any comments, the terms of reference of the Committee be approved for submission to the Court as set out in the appendix.

The Committee are also asked to consider the frequency of their meetings going forward.

Appendices

• Appendix 1 – Terms of Reference of the City Bridge Trust Committee

Philippa Sewell

Committee and Members' Services Officer Town Clerk's Department

T: 020 7332 1426 E: <u>philippa.sewell@cityoflondon.gov.uk</u>]

THE CITY BRIDGE TRUST COMMITTEE

1. Constitution

A Non-Ward Committee consisting of,

- two Aldermen nominated by the Court of Aldermen
- 12 Commoners elected by the Court of Common Council, at least one of whom shall have fewer than five years' service on the Court at the time of their appointment
- the Right Honourable the Lord Mayor (ex-officio)

2. Quorum

The quorum consists of any five Members.

3. Membership 2015/16

ALDERMEN

- 4 Alison Jane Gowman
- 1 Vincent Keaveny

COMMONERS

- 3 (3) Stanley Ginsburg J.P., Deputy, for three years
- 12 (4) William Harry Dove, O.B.E., J.P., Deputy
- 4 (4) Ian Christopher Norman Seaton
- 3 (3) Stuart John Fraser, C.B.E.
- 5 (3) Vivienne Littlechild J.P.
- 5 (3) Charles Edward Lord, O.B.E., J.P.
- 3 (2) Simon D'Olier Duckworth, O.B.E., D.L
- 3 (2) The Revd. Stephen Decatur Haines, M.A., Deputy, for three years
- 7 (2) Wendy Mead, O.B.E.
- 1 (1) Karina Helen Dostalova
- 3 (1) Marianne Bernadette Fredericks
- 5 (1) Jeremy Paul Mayhew, M.A., M. B. A.

together with the ex-officio Member referred to in paragraph 1 above.

4. Terms of Reference

- (a) To determine all applications for grants pursuant to the Cy Pres Scheme for the administration of the Charity known as the Bridge House Estates, made by the Charity Commissioners on 9 February 1995 and brought into effect by the Charities (The Bridge House Estates) Order 1995, as respects the following purposes:-
 - (i) in or towards the provision of transport and access to it for elderly or disabled people in the Greater London area; and,
 - (ii) for other charitable purposes for the general benefit of the inhabitants of Greater London;

other than grants above a sum of £500,000 which decisions are reserved to the Court of Common Council upon this Committee's recommendation.

(b) Subject to the terms of the Cy Pres Scheme and criteria as to the eligibility and treatment of applications specified from time to time by the Court of Common Council:-

- (i) to review the criteria referred to above and to make recommendations to the Court of Common Council for changes thereto;
- (ii) to determine conditions and other requirements to be imposed in connection with grants that are approved;
- (iii) in considering the application of surplus income in accordance with clause 2 of the said Scheme, the Trustee¹ shall consult with such person, bodies corporate, local authorities, government departments and agencies, charities, voluntary organisations and other bodies as the Trustee may think appropriate from time to time; and,
- (iv) to review, as necessary, the amounts, nature and spread of grants approved or refused, and the operation of administrative arrangements for the Scheme.

c) To be involved in the process for the appointment of the Chief Grants Officer, as appropriate.

¹ The City of London Corporation, acting through the Court of Common Council, is the sole Trustee of Bridge House Estates ('the Trustee').